The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 27, 2018, 09:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 207
FED Windup Question

I need a rule reference on the play in a FED game:

R1 and R2. F1 is in the windup position. He starts his motion and stops. PU says he can do this and it is not a balk. Is he correct?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 27, 2018, 10:07pm
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,735
Quote:
Originally Posted by harmbu View Post
I need a rule reference on the play in a FED game:

R1 and R2. F1 is in the windup position. He starts his motion and stops. PU says he can do this and it is not a balk. Is he correct?
Huh?

No. 6-2-4d.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 28, 2018, 07:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,567
I hope there's more to the story. Either PU didn't have him starting, or the "stop" was just some sort of hesitation during the (eventually) completed delivery that was interpreted differently or something.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 28, 2018, 10:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 177
Note that in Fed, if the batter either holds up a had to request time or steps out of the box, and that causes the pitcher to stop his delivery (6-42-4-d note), then there is no balk, the umpire should call time and reset the batter and pitcher.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 28, 2018, 10:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 207
There is not more to the story. F1 completely stopped his motion and did not complete the pitch. PU specifically told the coach on offense that F1 can do this without penalty of a balk.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 28, 2018, 11:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 764
Quote:
Originally Posted by harmbu View Post
There is not more to the story. F1 completely stopped his motion and did not complete the pitch. PU specifically told the coach on offense that F1 can do this without penalty of a balk.
Without runners this would be true although some would argue only in FED that it would be penalized with a ball. With runners this is a balk. F1 probably realized he shouldn't wind up in that runner config and stopped. Was no one yelling step off?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 04, 2018, 02:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Rockville,MD
Posts: 913
Without runners, the action would be an illegal pitch in NFHS, because the pitcher failed to complete his delivery upon beginning it. In OBR, this would be nothing without runners, but I would tell the pitcher not to do this, because it would be confusing to the batter. With runners, the plate umpire in the OP is incorrect, and stopping a pitch is a balk.

I had a related situation as HP in a high school game with runners on 2B and 3B where the pitcher failed to come set when he threw a pitch that was fouled off. I called a balk, and awarded the runner on 3B home, and advanced the runner to 2B. My partner tried to talk me out of a balk, by saying that the pitcher is allowed to not come set with a runner on 3B. I told him that the configuration of runners on the bases is irrelevant for the enforcement of the balk rule. Because the pitcher was in the set position, and failed to come set, I called a balk.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 04, 2018, 02:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Rockville,MD
Posts: 913
Quote:
Originally Posted by umpjim View Post
Without runners this would be true although some would argue only in FED that it would be penalized with a ball. With runners this is a balk. F1 probably realized he shouldn't wind up in that runner config and stopped. Was no one yelling step off?
For the pitcher, it's a damned if you do, damned if you don't situation. If he hears "Step off!" and does so after he starts his pitching motion, he will balk. Even if he stops his pitching motion to step off, it is still a balk, because he failed to complete his pitching motion. It's unfortunate, but the only legal option that he had was to continue the pitch, and hope that the catcher can throw out R2 trying for 3rd (best case) or that the batter fouls the ball off.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 04, 2018, 11:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 764
Quote:
Originally Posted by ilyazhito View Post
Without runners, the action would be an illegal pitch in NFHS, because the pitcher failed to complete his delivery upon beginning it. In OBR, this would be nothing without runners, but I would tell the pitcher not to do this, because it would be confusing to the batter. With runners, the plate umpire in the OP is incorrect, and stopping a pitch is a balk.

I had a related situation as HP in a high school game with runners on 2B and 3B where the pitcher failed to come set when he threw a pitch that was fouled off. I called a balk, and awarded the runner on 3B home, and advanced the runner to 2B. My partner tried to talk me out of a balk, by saying that the pitcher is allowed to not come set with a runner on 3B. I told him that the configuration of runners on the bases is irrelevant for the enforcement of the balk rule. Because the pitcher was in the set position, and failed to come set, I called a balk.
So you are the guy that would argue that. But failing to complete the pitch is not addressed in the rule with no runners on. There is a blanket penalty you could use but most of us wouldn’t. In OBR do not warn the pitcher for confusing the batter. The batter knows what happened.

Last edited by umpjim; Thu Jul 05, 2018 at 12:27am.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 05, 2018, 03:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Upper Midwest
Posts: 926
Quote:
Originally Posted by ilyazhito View Post
Without runners, the action would be an illegal pitch in NFHS, because the pitcher failed to complete his delivery upon beginning it.
No, it's not. This is covered under 6-2-4d (illegal actions with runners on,) not 6-2-1 (illegal actions.)

There was an idiot Facebook umpire (redundant, I know) that was insisting that the verbage in 6-1-2 made it an illegal pitch. I pointed out that 6-1-3 has no such wording, and thus to follow his logic, it would only be an illegal pitch in the windup and not the set.
__________________
"I don't think I'm very happy. I always fall asleep to the sound of my own screams...and then I always get woken up to the sound of my own screams. Do you think I'm unhappy?"
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Balk from windup...OBR rbmartin Baseball 1 Wed Apr 11, 2012 07:52am
Windup BigUmp56 Baseball 5 Thu Apr 27, 2006 08:47am
LEGAL WINDUP? mg43 Softball 5 Tue Apr 12, 2005 11:41am
Pickoffs from the windup? andrewm Baseball 132 Sun Apr 03, 2005 10:39pm
Windup in FED Cubbies87 Baseball 9 Mon Jul 26, 2004 10:55pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:40pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1