The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 04, 2017, 12:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 401
Send a message via Yahoo to yankeesfan
Hit and run

In a hit and run where second baseman is covering second base and batted ball hits runner going from first to second. Is this a judgment call as the second baseman vacated his position? What’s the call?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 04, 2017, 01:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,567
Quote:
Originally Posted by yankeesfan View Post
In a hit and run where second baseman is covering second base and batted ball hits runner going from first to second. Is this a judgment call as the second baseman vacated his position? What’s the call?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Under no code is there judgment as to whether F4 "vacated his position." Th issue is:

OBR: Did the ball pass through or immediately by (that is, could the runner reasonably believe that the ball would be fielded?) F4 (or another fielder)? If not, it's interference.

FED: Did the ball pass farther from home than all fielders such that no infielder had a play? (Draw an imaginary line from F3 to F4 -- if the ball hasn't passed that line, it's INT.)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:39pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1