The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Bizarre American Association situation (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/102786-bizarre-american-association-situation.html)

jchamp Tue Jul 04, 2017 12:17am

Bizarre American Association situation
 
From the "Why you study ALL the rules" file.
This evening's game between the Grand Prairie Airhogs and the Lincoln Saltdogs featured one of the most bizarre ways to score runs. After the Home pitcher walked a batter to load the bases, he threw the ball towards the home dugout, intending, presumably, to get a replacement ball. He did this, it appears, after all the runners had reached their next base, but without calling time, so, with a live ball. The umpires awarded each runner two bases, resulting in two runs scored.
The video can be viewed here:
https://www.americanassociationbaseb...y-3?replay=yes
The relevant action occurs at about the 3 hour 14 minute mark, with the fallout and explanations taking a few minutes to get to the press box.

CT1 Tue Jul 04, 2017 07:05am

Wow. That's really bizarre.

Not at all surprised that the ejected manager was Billy Martin, Jr.

john5396 Wed Jul 05, 2017 09:32am

So, I'm thinking about specific ruling for this play. I primarily work NFHS, so I'm looking at the NFHS book for this.

When I watch the video, R1 had not reached 2nd base at the time of the throw by F1. The announcers indicate that the umpires called the ball dead when a bench personnel picked up the ball. So here is my play.

R2, R1, Ball 4 to Batter. R2 touched 3rd, and BR touches first, R1 is between 1st and second when F1 throws the ball into foul territory and the ball comes to rest. A bench person comes onto the field and picks up the ball and carries it into dead ball territory. At the time the bench person touches the ball, R1 has touched 2nd.

Where do you place R1, is this still 2 bases from the time of the throw, so R1 to 3rd, and BR to 2nd? I think this is still a throw that goes out of play or is touched by a spectator, the fact that the ball came to rest does not change that this is a thrown ball, so TOT is still correct.

I assume the ruling is the same for OBR?

umpjim Wed Jul 05, 2017 10:16am

If a bench person picked up a live ball OUTSIDE the dugout, wouldn't that be an immediate dead ball and runner placement at the discretion of the umpires?

CT1 Thu Jul 06, 2017 06:34am

Base awards are performed in the order they occurred, so R1 is awarded (1) 1st on the walk, then (2) home on the ball thrown out of play.

Same for BR.

bob jenkins Thu Jul 06, 2017 07:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by john5396 (Post 1007493)
The announcers indicate that the umpires called the ball dead when a bench personnel picked up the ball.

Wouldn't that be "intentional interference by a person authorized to be on the field" -- and, thus, umpire discretion?

Caroline01 Fri Jul 07, 2017 01:30am

baseball is a very popular game .. )):cool:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:00pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1