The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 03, 2017, 08:37pm
JJ JJ is offline
Veteran College Umpire
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: IN
Posts: 1,122
Out?

R3, R2. Outs not relevant. R3 gets picked off 3rd and gets in a rundown. While he's in the rundown, R2 advances to 3rd base. In the course of the rundown, F5 tags R2 while R3 is still between 3rd and home.
Is R2 out, even though he's standing on 3rd base?

JJ
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 03, 2017, 08:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,216
No.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 04, 2017, 07:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,579
Unless you are forced from a base, you cannot be out if you are tagged while you are the only runner occupying the base.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 11, 2017, 09:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 115
This does lead into the definition of "occupying the base", which has been discussed here before.

It is not the intent of the rule to call R2 out in this situation.
__________________
Lurker from Massachusetts. Not an official in any sport.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:51pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1