The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 31, 2000, 07:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Newburgh NY
Posts: 1,822
Re: Setting the record straight...


Pete,

I'm using your post as the most recent example of what appear to be some slightly off-base assumptions concerning what I suggested Mark Land (the original poster) should do in this scenario. Please allow me to set the record straight on one or two points, by using your post, without any suggestion that it is you in particular that I am disagreeing with, Ok?

Warren, you can disagree all you want with me as that is part of life. Now that I have been a member of various boards I've learned not too take things seriously. The point is to disagree without "keyboard trash-talking" which is the way you respond and for that I thank you.

This is an interseting thread which brought about a variety of responses.

The way I look at it to keep it simple is this:
The umpires job is to make certain that one side does not "tilt the balance" of power.

We (as an umpire) made a mistake now what do we do.
Yes as you mentioned, search the rule-book and see if there was any kind of precedent set, but in reality when we are out there on the diamond I doubt very seriously if we would remember anyhow.

For all practical purposes - a comebacker to F1 will result in an out. Let's take a look at the merits of this play.

B1 hit the ball off the plate which went to F1's glove and the PU signalled out.

If we put B1 on 1st and r1 at second - we tip the balance of power to the offense. By leaving R1 at second and calling B1 out is the most logical (ok Mr. Spock) approach since that would have been the most likely outcome.

Hey, when we call obstruction, we have to make similiar rulings on where to place runners, to me this situation is no different.


One other avenue which I'm surprised no-one mentioned is to change the call to a Foul Ball - a do-over if you will. If we changed the call to Foul / B1 is still up r1 returns to first - NO HARM NO FOUL and again no one gained an advantage.


Also, since we are using 9.01(c), chances are there would not be any protest upheld.

Warren, thanks for your comments, keep the dialogue going throughout the offseason.

Pete Booth
__________________
Peter M. Booth
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:44pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1