The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Abondonment Rule 7.08(a)(2) (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/101478-abondonment-rule-7-08-2-a.html)

Rounder Mon Jul 11, 2016 03:54pm

Abondonment Rule 7.08(a)(2)
 
Here's the situation: Runners at 2nd (R1) and 3rd (R2), no outs. Batter-runner hits a line drive to the SS who catches the ball for out number 1. The SS throws the ball to 3rd to try and double up R2. R2 is called safe, but he thinks that he was called out. The ball is thrown back to the pitcher. R2 begins trotting towards the 1st base dugout. The pitcher throws the ball back to 3rd base and the 3rd baseman steps on the bag, the field umpire signals out. Meanwhile R2 makes it as far as 15-20 feet past home plate (10 feet from the dugout) before he realizes that he was called safe due to his teammates yelling at him. R2 then turns around and runs to touch home plate where he is called safe at home by the home plate umpire.

Should this have been called abandonment? Everyone could clearly tell that he had no intention of touching home plate until he got back near the dugout. I was catching and made the mistake of asking if he was out of the baseline rather then asking if he should be called out for abandonment. I didn't even bring up the fact that the field umpire had already signaled out (clearly is was not thinking straight). What do you make of this mess?

Rich Ives Mon Jul 11, 2016 04:05pm

Probably.

BUT

Why did U3 call R2 out when F5 stepped on the 3B?

Rounder Mon Jul 11, 2016 04:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Ives (Post 989038)
Probably.

BUT

Why did U3 call R2 out when F5 stepped on the 3B?

That is what really threw me off. I don't know why. But i saw him do it as the catcher and focused my attention on R1 assuming he must have had a reason. Had I been coaching I would have been more effective at getting an explanation. But I don't think he called him out because of abandonment because he waited for the 3rd baseman to step on the bag so it looked more like an appeal. Even though the runner clearly re-touched the bag when he was originally called safe.

CT1 Tue Jul 12, 2016 07:49am

It's really not a mess if the correct call (R3 out for abandonment) stands. The umpires should get together & fix their screw-up.

MD Longhorn Thu Jul 14, 2016 01:59pm

In most rule codes, I can't imagine this being abandonment at all.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:38am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1