Quote:
Originally Posted by BSBAL18
Does the rule state the batter *must attempt* or engage at the ball for the foul-tip strike 3? Or since it was technically a foultip, the result of the play is a strikeout?
|
No the rule does not say that and it isn't technically a foul tip, it is a foul tip.
2-16-2
ART. 2 . . . A foul tip is a batted ball that goes directly to the catcher's hands and is legally caught by the catcher. It is a strike and the ball is in play.
All that is required is that the bat hits the ball.