|  | 
| 
 Fout Tip K ? Every game you will probably see a batter swing with 2 strikes and foultip it directly into the catchers mit... Strikeout.  However, my question is, batter ducks to get out of a ball thrown around his head, the bat stays up and the ball hits the bat and subsequently goes straight to catchers mit.   Does the rule state the batter *must attempt* or engage at the ball for the foul-tip strike 3? Or since it was technically a foultip, the result of the play is a strikeout? | 
| 
 Quote: 
 2-16-2 ART. 2 . . . A foul tip is a batted ball that goes directly to the catcher's hands and is legally caught by the catcher. It is a strike and the ball is in play. All that is required is that the bat hits the ball. | 
| 
 Welpe gave you the rule.  As long as the batter is holding the bat, if the pitch strikes the bat, it is treated as a batted ball. So if the ball is deflected back to the field, we have a fair or foul ball, depending on where it settles or is caught. In a like manner, if the pitched ball hits the bat being held by the batter and goes directly to F2's glove and is caught, we have a foul tip. With 2 strikes, the batter is out. | 
| All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:44pm. |