The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 17, 2003, 12:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,252
Quote:
Originally posted by Warren Willson
Quote:
Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:
Originally posted by greymule
A strict reading of the rules would indicate that if Baker simply stopped between 1B and 2B, there could be no appeal at 2B (since he didn't actually miss the bag). But since he proceeded to 2B and missed it, he would be at risk of being called out on appeal. Of course, I may be missing some reason that this particular play can't happen.
If Baker didn't advance to second, then the defense could get a "normal" force out at the base, cancelling the run.
I wouldn't presume to disagree with you, Bob, but how does that sit with the wording of NCAA 8-5j Ex which evidently says, inter alia:
    A force is removed whenever "a following runner is put out at a previous base". [BRD 2001: #232]
According to greymule's original scenario, the BR's preceding out at 1st means the force was not in effect on R1 at 2nd EXCEPT for the purpose of an appeal of a base running error at that base [BRD 2001: #229].

Cheers

Sorry -- I missed the part where F3 stepped on the base.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:18pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1