The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 16, 2003, 01:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
In Fed and OBR, the key to whether the out at 2B is considered a force in SC Ump's play is that the out at 1B removed the force before R1 missed the bag.

If R1 had missed 2B before the out at 1B (hardly impossible if he got a good jump and BR hit a high chop to F5), then the appeal at 2B would be a force play even though the BR had been put out at 1B.

In NCAA, since R1 was forced at the time the play began, the out at 2B would be considered a force regardless of when the out at 1B occurred. I think that's a strange rule. Abel on 3B, Baker on 1B, one out. Charles hits a ground smash to F3, who tags 1B to retire Charles. F3 then throws home in an attempt to get Abel, but Abel slides in safe and knocks the ball away. Baker misses 2B and advances to 3B. The defense appeals at 2B and Baker is called out. Baker was forced when the play began, so the third out is a force and Abel's run doesn't count.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:53am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1