The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Coach assist ends the game (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/100031-coach-assist-ends-game.html)

johnnyg08 Fri Aug 14, 2015 06:53pm

Coach assist ends the game
 
Prevents the tying run from scoring.


<iframe width="420" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/Dqt4i519mAw" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

rbmartin Sat Aug 15, 2015 12:46pm

This was the correct and appropriate call.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Sat Aug 15, 2015 01:52pm

My question is: Why didn't the 3B Umpire not grant the defense's request for Timeout?

MTD, Sr.

Rich Sat Aug 15, 2015 02:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 965870)
My question is: Why didn't the 3B Umpire not grant the defense's request for Timeout?

MTD, Sr.

Why should the ball be taken out of play?

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Sat Aug 15, 2015 02:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 965871)
Why should the ball be taken out of play?


From what I could see on the video, it appeared that all play had stopped, the ball was in the infield (I think it was in the possession of F1.), and most of the defensive players were attempting to return to their normal positions.

MTD, Sr.

umpjim Sat Aug 15, 2015 05:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 965873)
From what I could see on the video, it appeared that all play had stopped, the ball was in the infield (I think it was in the possession of F1.), and most of the defensive players were attempting to return to their normal positions.

MTD, Sr.

So why should you kill the ball? There are runners that can move up or be put out. Nobody seemed to want a time out to settle down the pitcher which would be a reason I would give it.

Rich Sat Aug 15, 2015 05:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 965873)
From what I could see on the video, it appeared that all play had stopped, the ball was in the infield (I think it was in the possession of F1.), and most of the defensive players were attempting to return to their normal positions.

MTD, Sr.

This isn't slow pitch softball. The ball remains live.

jwwashburn Sat Aug 15, 2015 07:07pm

I wonder if the 3rd base umpire gives time for a batter whenever he wants it? :) He better not.

I have never done Little League, my son played many years ago. Is the rule with runners similar to Fastpitch softball (ie the circle)? I know they can't lead off...when(in this scenario) would the runner be locked to his base? The pitcher appeared to have the ball on the mound.

Rich Sat Aug 15, 2015 07:09pm

The pitcher must be on the pitcher's plate with a catcher in position in the catcher's box to receive a pitch.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

umpjim Sat Aug 15, 2015 08:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 965882)
The pitcher must be on the pitcher's plate with a catcher in position in the catcher's box to receive a pitch.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

That's when a runner can't leave his base. You can't freeze a play by stepping on the rubber. Not applicable in the video though. Pitcher didn't take the rubber. Interesting question if the pitcher had taken the rubber and the coach didn't see it and assisted whether we have an out. Normally an out would stand on a runner that leaves early.

bwburke94 Sun Aug 16, 2015 10:02am

Non-umpire rules question: Is the LL rule different from higher levels in terms of what contact is disallowed?

Rich Sun Aug 16, 2015 10:10am

No difference at any level.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

rbmartin Sun Aug 16, 2015 06:25pm

In a non-FED game is this a delayed dead ball or immediate?

bob jenkins Sun Aug 16, 2015 08:17pm

If by "non-FED" you mean OBR, it's neither delayed dead not immediately dead. The assisted runner is out, and the rest of the play (advances or outs by other runners) stands.

(As a practical matter, in less-than-pro ball, you will likely have to call taime at the end to explain what happened.)

rbmartin Sun Aug 16, 2015 09:03pm

OBR 6.01 (a) It is interference by a batter or a runner when:
(8) In the judgment of the umpire, the base coach at third base, or first base, by touching or holding the runner, physically assists him in returning to or leaving third base or first base;...
PENALTY FOR INTERFERENCE: The runner is out and the ball is dead.

NFHS Rule 3 Sec 2 Art. 2 . . . No coach shall physically assist a runner during playing action.
PENALTY: The ball is dead at the end of playing action. The involved batter-runner or runner is out and any additional outs made on the play stand. Runners not put out return to bases occupied at the time of the infraction.

umpjim Sun Aug 16, 2015 09:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rbmartin (Post 965927)
OBR 6.01 (a) It is interference by a batter or a runner when:
(8) In the judgment of the umpire, the base coach at third base, or first base, by touching or holding the runner, physically assists him in returning to or leaving third base or first base;...
PENALTY FOR INTERFERENCE: The runner is out and the ball is dead.

NFHS Rule 3 Sec 2 Art. 2 . . . No coach shall physically assist a runner during playing action.
PENALTY: The ball is dead at the end of playing action. The involved batter-runner or runner is out and any additional outs made on the play stand. Runners not put out return to bases occupied at the time of the infraction.

BRD has PBUC reference that the ball remains live for both outs and advances. WUM mentions that the ball is left in play. NCAA is the same.

MD Longhorn Mon Aug 17, 2015 02:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bwburke94 (Post 965915)
Non-umpire rules question: Is the LL rule different from higher levels in terms of what contact is disallowed?

Contact is not disallowed at any level on a play like this.

ASSISTANCE is not allowed on any level on a play like this.

Contact that tells a player when to run has always been considered assistance.

DG Mon Aug 17, 2015 05:01pm

Two things. One, I don't know why F5 didn't just tag R2 to end the game. Two, I used to run an end of practice drill every practice for about 8 minutes. Everyone lines up at 3B and one at a time we practice "GO" and "STOP". If they were not tired before the drill, they were after. During games I did not need to get anywhere near a runner to get one to GO or STOP.

MD Longhorn Mon Aug 17, 2015 05:03pm

When could F5 have tagged R2?

aceholleran Tue Aug 18, 2015 01:28pm

I don't know if I would have called INT there. Really don't know.

ace in PA

scrounge Wed Aug 19, 2015 08:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by aceholleran (Post 965971)
I don't know if I would have called INT there. Really don't know.

ace in PA

The coach tapped the runner to wake him up and get him to run...if that isn't physically assisting, I'm not sure what is.

jwwashburn Wed Aug 19, 2015 08:42pm

That was more than a tap.
It was a push.

DG Wed Aug 19, 2015 08:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by md longhorn (Post 965948)
when could f5 have tagged r2?

0:15


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:58am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1