The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack (1) Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  1 links from elsewhere to this Post. Click to view. #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 04, 2014, 01:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: The Great Pacific NW
Posts: 38
Error on 2014 NFHS test

Just finished taking this year's exam. There was a multiple choice question for which the correct answer was not present. The question was:

A's ball first and ten from their own 10. Quarterback drops back into the end zone to pass and is tackled in the end zone by his facemask and fumbles. The ball rolls out of bounds at the 5 yard line. After penalty enforcement give down distance and yard line.

This play is specifically covered in rule 10-4-7, which states that the goal line is the basic spot. Penalize 15 yards from the goal line to the 15, replay first down, so it's first and 5. That is not one of the choices.

I suspect whoever wrote the question was using case play 10.3.1 Situation C as his correct answer. However this case ruling is clearly in error. Rule 10.3 only defines a loose ball play. Had this play happened in the field of play, then it would be a loose ball play penalized from the previous spot. But this is a special case where the loose ball originates from the end zone and is clearly spelled out it rule 10-4-7.

According to 10.3.1 C it should be first and ten from the 25. This would be an incorrect enforcement of the rules.

Comments from the more erudite among us?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 04, 2014, 06:18am
Chain of Fools
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,648
Not an error. Your ruling applies if there was a safety, touchback, or a change of possession. With no change of possession, it is enforced as loose ball play as indicated.

It is convoluted and even Reddings struggles to explain it.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 04, 2014, 09:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: midwest/plains
Posts: 402
Whether the loose ball originates in the field of play or the end zone has no effect...

Basics of penalty enforcement require us to know where the basic spot is and that requires us to know whether it is a loose ball or running play. The "exceptions" move the basic spot to the goal line when the basic spot would be behind/beyond.

The play in question is a loose ball play (fumble behind the LOS) the basic spot is the previous spot. Had there not been a fumble, then running play, basic spot is end of the run which was in the end zone, therefore the basic spot would be the goal line for fouls against the defense.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 04, 2014, 09:55am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
As said, not an error. Basic enforcement principle: Loose ball play (run prior to a fumble), basic spot previous spot, foul's on B.

We could argue whether it exposes a poor enforcement principle (end of run on foul where the run ends behind the LOS), but that's a whole 'nother argument. Tackled by the mask in the end zone - basic spot's the goal line, A 1/5 at the A15. Fumbles it? A 1/10 at the A25.

I found this test to be the most straightforward NFHS test I've taken in years.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 04, 2014, 02:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: The Great Pacific NW
Posts: 38
Here is rule 10-4-7: --- Quote ---The basic spot is the goal line for fouls, which are committed during running plays by the opponent of the team in possession at the time of the foul when the team in possession is responsible for forcing the ball across its own goal line, and the related run ends in the end zone and is followed by a loose ball, regardless of where the loose ball becomes dead.

All conditions in my example play are listed in this rule. A run ending in the end zone followed by a loose ball. Penalty by B while A in possession. A forced the ball into the end zone. How can you say this rule does not apply. This rule was written for exactly this play. This rule says nothing about a change of possession. Yes this is a loose ball play. Rule 10-4-7 says that in this specific set of circumstances the goal line is the basic spot.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 04, 2014, 03:15pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by WestCoaster View Post
A run ending in the end zone followed by a loose ball.
Which means this is not a running play, it is a loose ball play. A fumble behind the LOS will result in all preceding action being a part of the loose ball play.

Same as if a QB runs behind the LOS and then throws a forward pass, all action before the pass is a part of the same loose ball play.

Let's take a look at Rule 2:

2-33-1

Quote:
ART. 1 . . . A loose-ball play is action during:

a. A free kick or scrimmage kick other than post-scrimmage kick fouls.

b. A legal forward pass.

c. A backward pass (including the snap), an illegal kick or fumble made by A from in or behind the neutral zone prior to a change of team possession.

d. The run or runs which precedes such legal or illegal kick, legal forward pass, backward pass or fumble.
Since you have a loose ball play, the basic spot is the previous spot.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 05, 2014, 09:32am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by WestCoaster View Post
Here is rule 10-4-7: --- Quote ---The basic spot is the goal line for fouls, which are committed during running plays by the opponent of the team in possession at the time of the foul when the team in possession is responsible for forcing the ball across its own goal line, and the related run ends in the end zone and is followed by a loose ball, regardless of where the loose ball becomes dead.

All conditions in my example play are listed in this rule. A run ending in the end zone followed by a loose ball. Penalty by B while A in possession. A forced the ball into the end zone. How can you say this rule does not apply. This rule was written for exactly this play. This rule says nothing about a change of possession. Yes this is a loose ball play. Rule 10-4-7 says that in this specific set of circumstances the goal line is the basic spot.
It's not a running play. It's a loose ball play, by definition. QED.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
Our state is not a full member of the National Federation, which means they do not pay the insurance dues for the officials for the state. Our state produces our own test which is much shorter and multiple choice. It has been that way for probably 5 or 6 years now. Our test is usually much more common sense and asks about how you apply the rules, not just trying to test your rulebook language knowledge or complete understanding for one word in a question.

Peace
Jeff, normally I'm with you, but in this case:

(1) The test was as straight-forward as any I've ever taken. I took 30 minutes and scored 100.

(2) The question in this thread is a GREAT practical application question. It is testing the concept of running play and loose ball play.

--------------------

ART. 7 . . . The basic spot is the goal line for fouls, which are committed during running plays by the opponent of the team in possession at the time of the foul when the team in possession is responsible for forcing the ball across its own goal line, and the related run ends in the end zone and is followed by a loose ball, regardless of where the loose ball becomes dead.

-----

10-4-7 doesn't apply in this play. You can stop reading the second you get to "running play" since it's not a running play.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: https://forum.officiating.com/football/98260-error-2014-nfhs-test.html
Posted By For Type Date
Confused This thread Refback Wed Aug 06, 2014 11:03am

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2014 NFHS powerpoint john5396 Volleyball 0 Tue Jul 22, 2014 07:54am
2014 NFHS rules now up on Amazon... HLin NC Football 5 Tue May 27, 2014 10:02am
ASA 2014 test question 16 Linknblue Softball 18 Tue Jan 21, 2014 11:04am
2014 NFHS PPT available john5396 Baseball 2 Thu Jan 16, 2014 01:00pm
NFHS 2014 Softball Rules Changes Tex Softball 6 Thu Oct 03, 2013 12:19pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:01am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1