The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 12, 2000, 12:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 142
Question

Ok, I'm really not looking for a test answer here - I just don't understand the question entirely!

On the part I (NFHS) test, it asks:
(T/F)It is a technical foul if a player strikes the backboard while a try is in flight.

Rule 10-3-6b states:
A player shall not... While a try or tap is in flight or is touching the backboard or is in the basket or in the cylinder above the basket, intentionally slap or strike the backboard or cause the ring to vibrate.

The word "intentionally" seems to me to be the key here. Since the backboard could be slapped (legally) inadvertantly by a defender trying for a block, I would answer "false." Am I reading too much (or too little) into the question??

Thanks!

Joe

[Edited by JoeT on Oct 12th, 2000 at 01:05 PM]
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:04pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1