The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 24, 2003, 02:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
Speaking of "time," how would it affect this play in OBR?

Abel hits a ball off the fence, touches 1B, misses 2B, and slides safely into 3B on a close play. The ball shoots through into the dugout. We know that Abel is awarded home but can return to touch 2B while the ball is dead. However, if Abel immediately advances and touches home, he cannot legally return to touch 2B.

But what if the ball hadn't gone out of play and Abel had slid safely into 3B and become tangled with F5? Suppose Abel, possibly injured, asked for time? Would the granting of time then prevent him from being able to return to touch 2B? Would he have to wait until the ump put the ball back in play to attempt to return?

I distinctly remember such a play in American Legion 30+ years ago, but I don't remember what brought it about. The pitcher stepped on the rubber, the ump said, "Play," and the runner on 3B tried to get back to 2B before the appeal there. (He was out easily.)

I guess the question is, Are "time out" and "dead ball" exactly the same?
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:21am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1