![]() |
|
|
|||
MLB rule on fan contact with a batted ball
Twins @ Tigers
Must C | Must C Curious: Fan appears to touch Avila's double - Video | MLB.com: Multimedia MLB.com Gameday | tigers.com: Gameday Was the call correct?
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
Twins manager Ron Gardenhire didn't agree.
"I don't care who it hit -- when it hits a fan in the stands, it's a ground-rule double and you don't score," Gardenhire said. "However you want to call it, that guy doesn't score. So it doesn't make sense to me and what they told me didn't make any sense, either." What a surprise, I am shocked! It wouldn't make sense to Gardenshire if they told him in the middle of the field, at 3pm that it was the afternoon. Yes, the call was correct. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
When in doubt, bang 'em out! Ozzy |
|
|||
If it hit that guy who reached down over the fence, it was the correct award. If it only hit the guy in the orange shirt in the stands, it was not the correct award. From the replay we know what Gardy thought, and from Darling's reaction we know what HE thought.
JJ |
|
|||
Quote:
Good point, and you're right, their ruling tells us what the call was. ![]()
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
Quote:
-Josh |
|
|||
The fan interference call was correct. Awarding the runner home was not, in my opinion.
__________________
I'm due to make a great call. After all, I've been officiating a long time !!! |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
OBR: BR Hit by batted ball. | jkumpire | Baseball | 7 | Fri Jun 05, 2009 12:26pm |
Illegally Batted Ball? | Zepp | Softball | 4 | Tue May 15, 2007 10:29am |
Jumping over a batted ball | tzme415 | Softball | 4 | Fri Jul 08, 2005 04:53pm |
batted ball | briank0627 | Baseball | 1 | Mon Nov 08, 2004 09:29am |
ball batted twice | coreyboy | Softball | 3 | Wed Jun 11, 2003 09:56am |