The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 08, 2002, 02:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
This was from my NCAA refresher test. I've already sent it in, but would like to hear what everybody thinks.

B1 fouls A1. Team A is in the bonus. B1 then curses at A1. Official assesses a technical foul. Officials then allow the FTs to be shot in wrong order. They shoot the 1-and-1 first (A1 makes both), then shoot the technical FTs. The officials then realize the error and give Team B possession of the ball for a throw-in anywhere along the endline. Is the official correct?

Dan and I talked about this. Our initial agreement was that since A1 made both ends of the 1-and-1, you know who should get the ball after the FTs. So the official did the best thing he could do. You give it B b/c they would've had the ball if the FTs had been shot in the correct order.

After Dan had already mailed his test in, I talked to a couple local guys who convinced me that after the FTs for the technical, you have to put the ball in play at the POI, which in this case is a point where neither team has control. So you would have to use the arrow. So I answered that the official was not correct.

Any thoughts on this. . .Bob?

chuck
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:08pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1