The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 01, 2011, 06:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 336
Dk3

Can a batter, who swings/misses, legally run and acquire 1st base on a dropped third strike, when the pitch bounces over the plate or when F2 tries to "shorthop catch it" out of the dirt, but drops both examples? Or in other words, does the pitch have to hit F2's glove while in flight?

I've searched (see below) but would like rule reference please.

2-9-1 - Definition of a Catch..."secure possession in hand or glove of a live ball in flight", then farther down "NOTE: When a batted ball or pitch is involved, the above definition of catch applies".
2-28-2 Definition of a Pitch--nothing about a pitch that bounces
6-1-4 Legal Pitch -nothing about a pitch in the dirt
7-4-1b DK3 - "a 3rd strike not caught"
8-4-1e/f -Runner is Out - nothing that applies here

Caseplay 6.1.1c "A Pitch that hits the ground and bounces through the strikezone is a ball unless the batter strikes at it".

Caseplay 7.4.1.a/b Both give DK3 examples, neither with a pitch in the dirt
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:04pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1