The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 26, 2010, 04:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: MST
Posts: 248
Backcourt (test) question

One of the questions on the test in the "Backcourt/Frontcourt" section asks the following question......

"A ball that is in contact with two players is in the backcourt if either player is touching the backcourt."

The correct answer is true with reference cited in 4-4-1 for anyone who objects.

From what I understand of this statement (and the citation in the book) is that once frontcourt status has been established no one (including the defense) can touch the backcourt and the ball without there being a violation.

Would it thus be a violation if after establishing frontcourt status a defensive player (perhaps in a high trap just across the halfcourt line) touches the ball while a foot is in the backcourt?

I would assume so, however it seems unfair that the defense would have such an advantage.

Thoughts? Comments?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Backcourt Question bigdog5142 Basketball 78 Wed Sep 05, 2007 10:20am
another backcourt question missinglink Basketball 10 Fri Jan 05, 2007 05:32pm
Backcourt Question AirForceDude Basketball 1 Mon Dec 27, 2004 09:59pm
Backcourt Question fletch_irwin_m Basketball 10 Mon Jul 21, 2003 05:42pm
Another backcourt question ken roberts Basketball 6 Thu Dec 16, 1999 02:29am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:45pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1