![]() |
|
|
|||
NCAA rules - basket in and out
Looked in the case book and rulebook - can't seem to find anything definitive and thought I would ask here.
Pretty simple. Ball goes into the hoop and completely past the ring without interference of any kind. It then hits net and freakishly bounces backwards through the rim. At what point is this considered a made goal? I'm sort of reading the rule, and it almost seems that it's considered a made goal when it either passes through or somehow gets stuck in the net. Is that right? Section 33. Goal Art. 1. A goal shall be made when: a. A live ball that is not a throw-in enters the basket from above and remains in or passes through; or b. A free throw enters the basket from above and remains in or passes through. Art. 2. Whether the game clock is running or stopped shall have no influence on the counting of a goal. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Art. 1. A goal shall be made when: a. A live ball that is not a throw-in enters the basket from above and remains in or passes through And the definition of the basket is: Rule 4 Definitions, Section 4. Basket Art. 1. Each basket consists of an 18-inch ring, its flange and braces, and appended net through which players attempt to throw or tap the ball. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() It does always seem freakish when a ball rolls most of the way down the rim and spins out, but that the net might do it seems to be exceedingly rare although I've heard of it happening twice in the same week. What I recall is the ball burying itself to the back of the net, and some strange action causing it to whip around and the new momentum of the ball then directed it out. How this happens would seem to be very much dependent on tiny little things, such as the age, stiffness, or precise shape of the nets. Also - I remember seeing a missed free throw attempt last week that lodged itself between the rim and the backboard. It was strange too. It softly bounced on the front of the ring, then on the side of the ring, and finally just jammed itself into the side of the rim. Of course it was just a possession arrow situation, although I can't for the life of me figure out why it should be. |
|
|||
Quote:
The ball is not in control of either team. The ball is in contact with the rim...which means it would be basket interference for either team to contact the ball. Even without a specific rule as we have , the only out is for the referee to blow it dead...otherwise the two teams would both stand there and dare the other to knock it free. Since there has been no infraction that would award the ball to one team or the other the only option is to go to the arrow.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Quote:
Specifically for free-throws - isn't an otherwise live ball that completely misses the rim/flange awarded to the defensive team? |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Off ball foul on made basket (NCAA) | Fan10 | Basketball | 2 | Sun Dec 02, 2007 03:37pm |
NCAA Rules Help | NSABlue | Softball | 3 | Mon Apr 24, 2006 08:10am |
NCAA (throw-in after basket) | Jay R | Basketball | 1 | Sun Jan 29, 2006 05:10pm |
ncaa Basket interference on throw in??? | jritchie | Basketball | 6 | Tue Oct 25, 2005 07:54am |