The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 12, 2008, 12:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 622
Help on a call

Player A is dribbling the basketball and in a motion to pass looses control (or fumbles) and the ball squirts away ... Player A then goes and recovers - does not dribble - just recovers ... legal play?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 12, 2008, 12:45pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Yes, legal. This is simply a fumble.
Whether he may continue to dribble is dependent upon whether he ended his dribble prior to trying to pass and whether he held the ball upon recovering it.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 12, 2008, 01:06pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,392
Another Myth Bites The Dust ...

During a fumble the player is not in control of the ball, and therefore, cannot be called for a traveling violation. A fumble is the accidental loss of player control when the ball is unintentionally dropped or slips from a player’s grasp. After a player has ended a dribble and fumbled the ball, that player may recover the ball without violating. Any steps taken during the recovery of a fumble are not traveling, regardless of how far the ball goes and the amount of advantage that is gained. It is always legal to recover a fumble, even at the end of a dribble, however that player cannot begin a new dribble, which would be an illegal dribble violation. A player who fumbles the ball when receiving a pass may legally start a dribble.

Also: Fumble/Dribble/Fumble: Legal
However: Dribble/Fumble/Dribble: Illegal Dribble
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 12, 2008, 02:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 844
Speaking about fumbles

A1 has a spot throw in. Thrower fumbles the ball. The ball stays on the out of bounds side of the boundary line. A1 has to travel 6 feet to the side to regain control of the ball. Violation?
Or can A1 return back to original throw in spot an release the ball as long as the 5 second count has not expired?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 12, 2008, 03:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,342
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoochy
A1 has a spot throw in. Thrower fumbles the ball. The ball stays on the out of bounds side of the boundary line. A1 has to travel 6 feet to the side to regain control of the ball. Violation?
Or can A1 return back to original throw in spot an release the ball as long as the 5 second count has not expired?
No, blow the whistle and reset the player.
__________________
truerookie
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 12, 2008, 05:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Johnny,
A player who fumbles the ball may ALWAYS go retrieve it without violating.

Zoochy,
The NCAA has a ruling to stop the play and readminister the throw-in. The NFHS does not have anything on that point.
Personally, I don't see why the player should get another opportunity. Afterall, it's part of playing the game and the player should have to hang onto the ball. Officials aren't instructed to stop play and give the ball back to a dribbler who loses it. Yes, I know that the NFHS casebook states to do this for a FT shooter who loses the ball.

I just don't like it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The right call or the correct call? Nevadaref Basketball 9 Mon Dec 11, 2006 10:21am
ASA OBS call then no call leads to ejection DaveASA/FED Softball 28 Mon Jul 12, 2004 03:52pm
To call or not to call foul ball DaveASA/FED Softball 11 Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:47am
More Pacers/Pistons call/no call OverAndBack Basketball 36 Thu Jun 03, 2004 07:01pm
Good Call / Bad Call whiskers_ump Softball 29 Fri Mar 28, 2003 09:35am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:20am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1