The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 19, 2007, 01:48am
I drank what?
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Winter Garden, FL
Posts: 1,085
Send a message via MSN to w_sohl
NFL Rules....

Talking to a guy I work with, not sure what game.

Receiver was tackled behind the LOS while a pass was in flight to him behind the LOS and no flag was thrown. Did the officials kick it or did they get it right and why?

What would be the NFHS ruling...
__________________
"Contact does not mean a foul, a foul means contact." -Me
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 19, 2007, 04:18am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Lightbulb Canadian Ruling

Quote:
Originally Posted by w_sohl
Receiver was tackled behind the LOS while a pass was in flight to him behind the LOS and no flag was thrown. Did the officials kick it or did they get it right and why?
CANADIAN RULING:

Assuming the "receiver" was a Team A member, and was tackled by a Team B member. Also assuming that the pass was a forward pass.

Defensive pass interference. Automatic first down, 10 to go, at the Previous Line of Scrimmage.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 19, 2007, 01:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
REPLY: NFHS ruling would be defensive holding. However, if (and this is a big "if") that receiver had just been involved in a fake handoff and was pretending to be the runner, withholding the flag would be proper. Probably 9 out of 10 times, the flag would be warranted.
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 19, 2007, 04:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Newport, KY
Posts: 176
To build on Bob M's post.... If by tackled you mean grasped and pulled down, then holding is the call. If you mean blocked and knocked to the ground, this is a legal defensive play, unless it is unnecessarily rough, or otherwise a foul, such as from behind or below the waist.
__________________
Rick

Last edited by Rick KY; Wed Dec 19, 2007 at 04:21pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
There are no rules and those are the rules. NCAA JeffTheRef Basketball 6 Sat Feb 07, 2004 11:01pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:39am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1