The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 22, 2007, 04:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 6
D3k

Although my login is still 12uparent, it has been a few years since I signed up to ask a question. Guess I should have thought a little more before picking that username.

This week...HS Junior Varsity game...NFHS rules....2 outs....dropped strike three.
Batter is unfamiliar with the D3K rule and starts for dugout....gets about halfway to on-deck circle while defense is leaving the field (no play made). She is told to run to first....R1 (on first) heads for second.

Base umpire comes running over and yells she is out "She committed toward the dugout". I think he was wrong...no real impact to the game...just want to be able to be sure the girls understand the rule correctly. I looked for other posts before initiating this thread and all I could find was:

"NFHS Rule 8-2.4 states a batter-runner would be out if entering a team area after a batted fair ball, a base on balls, a hit batter, a dropped third strike, or catcher obstruction. "

This is probably moot if there are any local rules that pertain but I don't know of any. Did the NFHS change the rule or is it still "entering a team area" and not simply walking in that direction regarding D3K?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:48am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1