The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 02, 2005, 11:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 74
Here's the situation that occurred tonight in a boys' varsity game (NFHS rules):

Less than 5 seconds left in the second quarter -- held ball called. Arrow pointing to A's basket.

During the throw-in (while ball is at A1's disposal), a foul is called on A2 prior to the bonus. B's ball at spot of foul.

Arrow is not switched. Still pointing to A's basket. Ball is put in play by B and time expires in first half.

After replaying the scenario and some discussion with the scorekeepers, the floor officials are unsure about the proper arrow direction but will look up in the rule book during half time...

They ruled that the arrow should be switched. B's ball to start the third quarter. I believe this was a mistake on the grounds that a foul by the throw-in team during the throw-in (ie. before it has ended) does not cause the throw-in team to lose the arrow.

Looking for confirmation and a rule or case book citation. If I'm wrong, I stand corrected.

Sven
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:02am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1