The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 04, 2005, 07:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 204
I have seen many times this year where a runner either rounds 1B or starts on 1B, then when returning to the base actually returns to the orange portion of the base. It is almost like they have been told so many times that they have to run to the orange portion that they think it applies all the time. We have discussed on this board that the orange portion is basically like dirt to the fielder if the play is in fair territory. The question is does the same apply to the runner after the initial play at 1B?

1) The BR rounds 1B, F3 gets throw from F4 and tags BR who has returned to the orange portion of the base - Out or Safe?

2) R1 on 1B, Fly ball to Right, R1 doesn't tag up, but returns to 1B when ball is caught, but returns to orange portion and just beats throw from F9 to F3 who is on white portion of base - Out or Safe?

This is one reason I don't like the double base; it just creates confusion especially for the runners.
__________________
Travis
ASA Umpire
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:59am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1