The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 1.00 average. Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 20, 2005, 12:07am
JJ JJ is offline
Veteran College Umpire
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: IN
Posts: 1,122
This one's on interference. In the FED Case Book, page 17, 2.21.1 Situation B it says, "R1 is on third and R2 on second. B4 hits down the left field line. R1 scores, but R2 maliciously runs over F5 after R1 touches home plate. RULING: Interference because of malicious contact...R1's run counts because he scored before the interference."

BUT

Case Book, page 19, 2.32.2 Situation B says, "R1 on third and R2 on first with no outs. A ground ball is hit to F6, who throws to F4 at second base. R2 slides out of the base path in an attempt to prevent F4 from turning the double play. RULING: Since R2 did not slide directly into second base, R2 is declared out, as well as the batter-runner. R1 returns to third base, the base occupied at the time of the pitch."

WHY does the run count in the first play, but not in the second, if both runners had touched the plate before the interference? Why, why, why-o-why?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:34am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1