The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 18, 2005, 09:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Katy, TX
Posts: 275
B-JV last night. A1 is going in for a layup. While in the act if shooting, but before the release, B1 fouls A1. It it not intentional, but enough contact to prevent the shot from being completed. At the last moment, A1 passes to A2 as my whistle goes off.

I called foul while shooting even though A1 passed after the foul. In my opinion, it looked like he was shooting and would have finished the shot had he not been fouled. Part of my reasoning was that if he had been fould sufficiently to prevent the release of the ball, he still would have been considered in the act of shooting.


The easy call would have been to spot it on the baseline.

I was a majority of one on the call and the coach called a timeout to ask me how I arrived at my opinion.

I would like to hear what y'all think of this.

Thanks,
DD

__________________
Damain
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:12am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1