![]() |
|
|||
1st yr ref. Trying to figure out which contact is okay and when it crosses the line.
So last night BJV game. One kid really physically strong. He is using his butt to move kids out from underneath. the movement is between 3-5 feet everytime. i talked to him-he continues. I call it-his coach says "It is good rebounding position " i tell coach I disagree and i am going to continue calling it . I do and game goes on. My partner thinks i should have used Advantage/Disadvantage on this sitch. My thinking is this bullying then is going to lead to more pushing by oppnents. etc, etc This is not incidential rebounding contact this is solid movement of the players going on. Any feedback will as always be appreciated... Mike |
|
|||
If the kid is using his butt to move opponents 3-5 feet, he sureashell is getting an advantage. Your partner's out to lunch on this one, and you didn't really expect the kid's coach to say anything different anyway, did you?
Good call. Don't second-guess yourself. And btw, unless the coach specifically asks about a call, don't talk to him about them. Just make the call. You don't have to justify your calls. |
|
|||
Called 5 of those fouls last night on rebounds, as well as a PC foul for using his butt to clear out defender.
Rules Book 10-6-1
__________________
"A picture is worth a thousand words". |
|
|||
More specific sitch
Okay from the two responses so far i wasn't out in left field. Now team A puts up shot. team B starts his butt rebounding drill I whistle -ball goes in. This is where my partner said i should have Adv/Disadv. because the shot went in A was not Disadvantaged by Team B and his butt rebounding drill. I believed and still do that moving people 3-5 feet needs to be addressed ( calling a foul) or it is gonna get real physical and ugly pretty quick.
|
|
|||
Re: More specific sitch
Quote:
When it comes to taking advice from partners- even supposedly veteran ones- use what you think is logical and appropriate and discard everything else. |
|
|||
Re: More specific sitch
Quote:
Now on "normal" displacement a good rule of thumb to use is did the contact go THROUGH the opponent, or did they stop and go the other way at the point of contact. |
|
|||
Re: Re: More specific sitch
Quote:
|
|
|||
Re: Re: Re: More specific sitch
Quote:
Was any seperation caused by a flop or a fade away? Bruce Lee was quoted as saying you don't throw a punch at the target, but 6 inches beyond the target. Does that help, grasshopper? ![]() |
|
|||
Re: Re: Re: Re: More specific sitch
Quote:
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|