The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 08, 2004, 11:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,050
For those few of you who officiate FIBA rules, I have a question regarding rule changes.

Two rules seem contradictory.

Rule 5.3 states that if an injured player cannot continue to play immediately, or, if he receives treatment, he must be substituted or the team must continue with fewer than five players

Rule 5.6 states that if an injured player or any player who is bleeding or has open wound recovers during a charged time-out taken by either team in the same stop-clock period, that player may continue to play.

Those two rules seem contradictory. Rule 5.3 used to be that a coach could take a TO to keep his player in the game, now he can't. Yet, Rule 5.6 says that if either team takes a TO, that player may continue if he has recovers.

What gives?

Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:55pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1