The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 04, 2004, 11:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 56
Recently, I was doing an American Legion game were the pitcher stepped and feinted a throw to third, but didn't even fake the throw. He immediately pivotted around, as part of the same movement, stepped and threw to first. It was clumsy and certainly didn't deceive R-1. But,in my opinion, this maneuver didn't comply with OBR 8.05(c), case-book comments on the 3 to 1 pickoff. I balked him, and though the defensive coach was irritated by the call, he accpted it.

I also saw something else that I believe was a balk. The coach was really angrey when I told him. What had happend was that during the pitcher's pivot and step toward 1st, his pivot food slid off the rubber on the plate side. There was no legal disengaging by stepping BACK off the rubber. I told the coach that I could have called that balk as easily as the improper 3 to 1 pickoff.

The defensive coach told me that there is an exception, and that the pitcher CAN step forward off the rubber with his pivot during a 3 to 1 pickoff. He cited the last sentence in the case-book comments that says: "Of cours, if the pitcher steps off the rubber and makes such a move, it is not a balk." I explained that, though it didn't say step back off the rubber, the prescription for disengaging the rubber is very clear in 8.01 (a) & (b).

Did I blow it?
__________________
Marty
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:59pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1