The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 31, 2003, 03:15pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,126
The 2003-04 NFHS Casebook has the following play:

5.10.1 SITUATION A: The score is tied with two seconds remaining in the game. A1 is awarded a bonus free throw. After the ball has been placed at the disposal of A1, B1 disconcerts A1. The free-throw attempt is missed. The timer does not hear the official’s whistle sound and permits the clock to start. May the referee put the two seconds back on the clock? RULING: Yes. The rules provide “ the referee may correct the mistake only when he/she has definite information relative to time involved.” The referee no only orders the timer to put two seconds back on the clock but also awards A1 a substitute throw for the disconcertion by B1. In instances where the time has not made an obvious mistake, the referee is not authorized to either put time on the clock or to take time off the clock.


Based on the above Casebook Play, how should the following plays be handled.


PLAY #1: The score is tied with two seconds remaining in the game. A1 is awarded a bonus free throw. After the ball has been placed at the disposal of A1, B1 disconcerts A1. The free-throw attempt is successful. The timer permits the clock to start.


PLAY #2: The score is tied with two seconds remaining in the game. A1 is awarded a bonus free throw. After the ball has been placed at the disposal of A1, B1 disconcerts A1. The free-throw attempt is missed. The trail official mistakenly signals the timer to start the clock, thus permitting the clock to start. Time runs out: (a) after A1 has started the act of shooting; (b) after A1 has released his attempt but before it has been determined that the attempt will be successful or will not be successful; or (c) after it has been determined that the attempt is not successful.


PLAY #3: The score is tied with two seconds remaining in the game. A1 is awarded a bonus free throw. After the ball has been placed at the disposal of A1, B1 disconcerts A1. The free-throw attempt is successful. The trail official mistakenly signals the timer to start the clock, thus permitting the clock to start. Time runs out: (a) after A1 has started the act of shooting; (b) after A1 has released his attempt but before it has been determined that the attempt will be successful or will not be successful; or (c) after it has been determined that the attempt is successful.


What should be the ruling in each of these plays? If B1’s disconcertion violation was changed any other type of free-throw violation would the ruling in each of these plays be different?


[Edited by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. on Dec 31st, 2003 at 05:43 PM]
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:55pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1