The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 02, 2003, 07:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 555
Send a message via ICQ to bigwhistle
Question

Team A is attempting a middle screen. The pass is grabbed in the air by lineman B75 less than a second after leaving passer A1's hand. R, focusing on passer A1, sees B55 take two full steps after pass is released and send a double forearm shiver to A1. He throws flag for "roughing the passer". Is this correct?

If the pass had been 40 yards downfield it would be a no-brainer. PF for roughing passer. However, this contact occured after the defense had intercepted the pass. Does the passer cease to be a passer when the pass ends, i.e. when the ball was possessed?

Is this a clean hands play where B should be able to retain possession because they had not fouled prior to their taking possession of the ball?

Was there any foul at all? If the play was deemed to not have been PF for roughing the passer, would the contact on A1 be deemed to just be a good legal block since he was no longer a passer but a player?

Thoughts and references please. This happened in a game governed by NCAA rules.

Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:07pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1