The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 21, 2003, 09:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1
This play happened tonight in a middle school game using NFHS rules. The offense tries to kick a fieldgoal but it is blocked by the defense the ball then hits a defensive player behind the line of scrimmage the kicking team picks up the ball on the 15 yard line and runs it in for an apparent touchdown. After the officials discussed the play they gave the ball to the kicking team 1st and 10 from the 15 yard line. Was that the correct ruling? If not what is the correct ruling?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 21, 2003, 09:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Indianola, Ia
Posts: 319
On any scrimmage kick that does not go beyond the neutral zone the kicking team if they should recover may advance the ball.

For instance A kicks into a strong headwind and the ball does not cross the neutral zone, whether it is touched by R or not the may

1. Advance the ball by running it
2. Advance the ball by making a legal forward pass

If they should advance beyond the line to gain they will be awarded a new series of downs and 1st and 10.

If this happens on downs 1,2, or 3 they retain the ball and continue the series.

If they do not reach the line to gain on 4th then B is awarded the ball 1st and 10.

Kind of a quick view without the book in front of me.

In addition if R muffs the short punt and the ball bounces back behind the neutral zone the kickers can pretty much the same as mentioned above.

The key to the whole play is where is the ball when K retains possession.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 22, 2003, 12:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 35
First, the issue is not whether R blocked the kick behind the neutral zone, but whether K recovered the ball in or behind the neutral zone. You did not give us the original line of scrimmage.

If K recovered the ball in or behind the line of scrimmage, then it is a touchdown for K. If K recovered beyond the neutral zone, then it is R's ball at the 15. Here is the analysis:

1. The ball did not become dead when K touched the blocked kick (Rule 4-2-2f).

2. The touching by R is ignored because it ocurred in or behind the expanded neutral zone (Rule 6-2-6). I think we can assume that it was a low scrimmage kick if R blocked it. It certainly was not a high scrimmage kick.

3. K may recover and advance any scrimmage kick except a try (regardless of whether R touched it) while the ball is in or behind the neutral zone (Rule 6-2-3). Thus, if K recovered the ball in or behind the neutral zone, then K has every right to the ball and may advance. The correct ruling in this case is K touchdown.

4. If K recovered the kick beyond the neutral zone or the expanded neutral zone, it must have first been touched by R clearly beyond the neutral zone (Rule 6-2-4). However, you describe R's touching as behind the neutral zone. Thus, that touching is ignored. In that case, K's touching at the 15 is "first touching" and the ball becomes dead at the 15 and belongs to R (Rule 6-2-5).

I hope this answers your question. Unfortunately, it will never belong to K - first and 10 from the 15.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 22, 2003, 02:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 842
Send a message via AIM to cowbyfan1 Send a message via Yahoo to cowbyfan1
It should have been touchdown from what it sounds like.
__________________
Jim

Need an out, get an out. Need a run, balk it in.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:32am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1