View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 22, 2003, 12:40am
tempestos tempestos is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 35
First, the issue is not whether R blocked the kick behind the neutral zone, but whether K recovered the ball in or behind the neutral zone. You did not give us the original line of scrimmage.

If K recovered the ball in or behind the line of scrimmage, then it is a touchdown for K. If K recovered beyond the neutral zone, then it is R's ball at the 15. Here is the analysis:

1. The ball did not become dead when K touched the blocked kick (Rule 4-2-2f).

2. The touching by R is ignored because it ocurred in or behind the expanded neutral zone (Rule 6-2-6). I think we can assume that it was a low scrimmage kick if R blocked it. It certainly was not a high scrimmage kick.

3. K may recover and advance any scrimmage kick except a try (regardless of whether R touched it) while the ball is in or behind the neutral zone (Rule 6-2-3). Thus, if K recovered the ball in or behind the neutral zone, then K has every right to the ball and may advance. The correct ruling in this case is K touchdown.

4. If K recovered the kick beyond the neutral zone or the expanded neutral zone, it must have first been touched by R clearly beyond the neutral zone (Rule 6-2-4). However, you describe R's touching as behind the neutral zone. Thus, that touching is ignored. In that case, K's touching at the 15 is "first touching" and the ball becomes dead at the 15 and belongs to R (Rule 6-2-5).

I hope this answers your question. Unfortunately, it will never belong to K - first and 10 from the 15.
Reply With Quote