Am I Overthinking?
A1 shoots a legitimate jump shot from within the free throw circle. B1 blocks the shot, but jumps towards A1 while doing so. After A1 lands (very close to still being in the air). B1 contacts A1, displacing her.
I rule that the foul is after the act of shooting, since A1 had landed before B1 contacted her. The ball was still in the air, but had no chance of going in the basket. For conversation's sake, let's say A1 was still in the air when contact occured. Would the correct ruling be to give A1 two free throws even though it was obvious that the shot was not going to go in?
Just wondering if I'm overthinking the play.
|