The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 18, 2003, 11:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,557
What are the mechanics for the deep man in a three man crew? Is the official suppose to give a verbal or hand signal that a fair catch was called? etcetc.

thanx
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 18, 2003, 11:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 945
First mechanic would be to find a 4th official.

No you don't give any signal that a fair catch was called. Once you see a fair catch signal given while the ball is in the air you know that the player and only the player who signaled is provided protection from being contacted after catching the ball. All other players on that team are allowed to catch the ball with no protection unless they also signal. The ball becomes dead as soon as anyone possesses it. It is the responsibility of the kicking team players to know if there was a signal.

The NF mechanics for 3-man are at the following site http://www.nfhs.org/PDF/Football/ThreeOfficials.pdf in case you didn't know.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 18, 2003, 12:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,557
I have one more thing.

R1 calls fair catch. If R1 muffs the ball in his hands but still has a chance of catching it(ball never makes contact with the ground) and K1 hits him, do you flag it? At what point do you call/not call kick catching interference?

Does that make sense?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 18, 2003, 12:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 379
Arrow

See thread entitled "muff or bobble" from a couple weeks ago.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 18, 2003, 02:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 231
I have a question regarding punts. Say its 4th and 10. K punts the ball and R muffs it (does not gain full possession)and K recovers. Do you start the clock on the Ready or on the snap?
__________________
"You are only one call away from controversy"
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 18, 2003, 04:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 43
NF. Any time you have a new series after a legal (does not mean foul- free) kick you start the clock on the snap, no matter which team has the new series.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:05pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1