View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 11, 2017, 12:08pm
JRutledge JRutledge is offline
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,548
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
NFHS and NCAA Men's Rules, using Casebook Plays and Approved Rulings, call this a Double Personal Foul, while NCAA Women's Rules, using the CCA Women's Manual, require the Officials to conference and determine which foul occurred first.

The NCAA Women's Rules do it correctly while the NFHS and NCAA Men's Rules do it incorrectly. WHY?

By definition (rule), it is impossible to have a "blarge" with regard to a Block/Charge. Either the Defender has obtained (NFHS)/established (NCAA M/W) a LGP or the Defender has not.

MTD, Sr.
I do not think this is about right or wrong. It is what it is for a reason. If you choose, there is going to be complaining of why we decided one or the other. And since this is rare in the first place, the rules have in place a situation that makes it clear that we are not to want to have this call on any occasion. Should it change? Maybe, but it will not solve all the problem. Because if you signal one over the other, there is still going to be a debate over which one is right. Usually in a blarge situation, there is a coach that knows the rule as well and following the rule is hard to argue. But if we choose, the coaches can argue that we picked the wrong one.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)