View Single Post
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 11, 2017, 10:48am
so cal lurker so cal lurker is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 734
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Agree.

No mention (below) regarding above, or below, the ring. Also, there is no mention regarding whether the official judges this throw to be a try, or to not be a try. So why does this one count three points? If it's simply a three point try that gets tipped by a defender below the arc (a common occurrence) then I get the three points, but what if this was a pass, that deflected off a defender's hand?

5.2.1 SITUATION C: A1 throws the ball from behind the three-point line. The ball is legally touched by: B1 who is in the two-point area; The ball continues in flight and goes through A's basket. RULING: Three points are scored since the legal touching was by the defense and the ball was thrown from behind the three-point line.

5-2 2 Scoring: Art. 1 A successful try, tap or thrown ball from the field by a player who
is located behind the team's own 19-foot, 9-inch arc counts three points. A ball
that touches the floor, a teammate inside the arc, an official, or any other goal
from the field counts two points for the team into whose basket the ball is thrown.
See 4-5-4.
I would imagine that 5.2.1 was intended to address a ball that is tipped as it is released to make clear that the shot blocker getting a finger on the ball does not convert it to a 2. And 4.41.4 was intended to make clear that once it is an obvious miss, we don't covert the fluke/own goal to a 3. IMHO, you need to look at context, and not assume these are written with the clinical precision of a contract lawyer. Keep it simple: If the ball is below the rim (and not still going up), rely on 4.41.4 and give them the 2. Don't try to be the smartest guy in the gym with an argument they get three just because the cases are imprecise.

Take it fir what it's worth from the soccer ref/BB dad.