View Single Post
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 29, 2017, 04:25pm
BigCat BigCat is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by BryanV21 View Post
When I read "imaginary cylinder" I think of something like a tube with it's base being the ring itself. And the ball was not in that "tube" when he loses the grasp of the ball. If I'm misinterpreting the rule, then okay. Thanks

I understand being "fair", but how would you explain why you'd let the basket count?
That is the cylinder. Rim skyward. You said he let's go of the ring before ball enters the cylinder. Ball is clearly on ring when he grabs it.

And I wouldn't explain it. Frankly, I might not process it fast enough or care to try and process it. Don't like that offense did nothing to cause it. He got fouled. He didn't jump out of control and create his own need to grab rim. His grabbing didn't help ball go in. If I called it I'd certainly be proving I knew the rule.
Just not sure it's best thing to do.
I don't call multiple fouls and probably wouldn't call this. My supervisors would not care. Others might.
Reply With Quote