View Single Post
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 26, 2017, 04:35pm
BigCat BigCat is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Here's an NCAAW Interp that seems on-point (note that it's from 2014-2015; and the rules were revised before the next season, but I don't think the relevant rules here were):

RULE:

Rule 9.13.8 and Rule 9.13.10

QUESTION:

On a throw-in near midcourt, A1 passes to A2 who leaps from her front court catches the pass while in the air and throws to A3 who is located in the back court.

Is this a back court violation?

What rule governs this play?

ANSWER:

During the throw-in, only the player who catches the throw-in after jumping from her frontcourt and lands in the backcourt is protected from violating. In your play, had A2 landed in the backcourt, there would be no violation. Once A2 catches the throw-in, the throw-in ends. Since A2 has frontcourt status when she catches the ball and throws it into the backcourt to A3, Team A has committed a backcourt violation (9-13.4). Had A2 tipped/deflected the ball (no player control) into the backcourt, A3 would be able to catch the ball without penalty (9-13.6).
In OP the player throws ball to base line(end line ) corner. Player getting ball didn't jump from BC to FC etc.
Reply With Quote