View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 18, 2017, 08:50am
bob jenkins bob jenkins is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,180
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbogcpa View Post
A1 is shooting second free throw of a 1 and 1. Shot is missed and rebound tips off A2's hand (no possession/control) and heads toward out of bounds line. A3 leaps from inbounds and smacks the ball in the toward midcourt while he is in the air heading out of bounds. Ball goes into backcourt and A4 retrieves it. Backcourt violation?
The key is whether you judge A3's action to be a :smack" (as described; no player control) or a "throw" (player control).

the first is not a violation; the second is.

In this play, I'm defaulting to no control unless it's clear that A3 held the ball.
Reply With Quote