View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 17, 2017, 06:39pm
thedewed thedewed is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 199
3 seconds interpretation

college and hs. thought I knew this but want to be sure. always thought both feet need to be out for offensive player not to be in the lane...one in one out you are still in. but what if the player with the foot that is 'in' lifts that foot, so that he then has no part of his body in the lane (that is the way the rule reads). I've never thought of it before . If the foot is over the lane, but not touching it, doesn't seem like in strict interpretation of the language that he is in the lane. similarly, if a player's arm is over the lane, but not touching it, you wouldn't say he was in the lane, so have a body part over the lane, breaking the plane of the lane line, wouldn't seem to be enough, unless i'm missing a case illustration, and I haven't looked to carefully. thoughts? can a play straddle the line, lift the inside foot and thereby start the 3 clock over?
Reply With Quote