Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
One has to remember I retired from officiating college basketball after the 2007-08 season, and the difference in the application is strictly a rules interpretation made through a Casebook Play Ruling for the NFHS and an Approved Ruling for the NCAA.
I am trying to watch the Steelers game right now so I am trying to make my comments here short and sweet (right now BillyMac has felt a disturbance in the Force).
But the logic in the difference in the Rulings is the same logic with regard to the Closely Guarded Rule. The NFHS says that the five second count continues even when B2 replaces B1 during the closely guarded count against A1. Which is the opposite for the NCAA.
In both cases the Rules do not make any stated addressing either the Backcourt situation we are discussing nor the Closely Guarded situation I mentioned.
Back to the Steeler game.
MTD, Sr.
|
Im watching the chiefs' game

. When the offensive player catches the ball near the FC baseline in the air, the ball has gained FC status. Team control in FC now. (Player was last touching floor in FC so when he jumps and catches he in FC) He then throws the ball to the BC where his teammate gets it. Last to touch in FC and first to touch in BC. I think it is a violation in both rule sets. Rule 9-9 in nfhs kk13 and rule 9 ncaa. I dont think im missing anything on the NCAA ruling.....Been a long day. Maybe i am...thx