Thread: Part 2 test
View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 19, 2016, 03:03am
Camron Rust Camron Rust is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich View Post
4-19-3.
Yes, I know it is defined. But, that is the end of it. None of the sub-parts of that rule apply during a dead ball. They either explicitly mention live ball or are in relation to a play (which also doesn't happen during a dead ball). It lists no examples of acts that occur during a dead ball. We all take it to be excessive contact during a dead ball, but why does it explicitly mention live ball if that is the case?

I think the implication in the rules is that you call a simple technical foul when contact occurs that would have been an intentional foul during a live ball. There is never a case where you need to call an intentional technical as it means absolutely nothing.

That explanation fits the question.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Mon Dec 19, 2016 at 03:05am.
Reply With Quote