Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat
Rob, I don't see the NCAAM videos. I know the NCAAm rule says player is airborne shooter until he "returns to floor." When one foot is down he has returned under ball location rules. I've never heard a discussion saying two feet is required to be considered "returned to floor."
Now I will error on the side of giving FTs.
|
Thanks, BigCat.
I just found an NFHS Case Book 2015-2016 statement:
4.1.1 ... "A1 is an airborne shooter when the ball is released until one foot returns to the floor. An airborne shooter is in the act of shooting."
I don't currently have a reference for the NCAA definition of "return to the floor." But I seem to recall discussions with colleagues, in past years, that indicate that both feet must have touched the floor, to end the "airborne shooter/in the act of shooting status." (It's not a subject that gets a lot of attention, either here or in camps.)
Maybe you or another of the Forum members that's currently doing NCAA ball can find a reference. I'll ask some of my NCAA friends if they can find a reference.