This case was in the nfhs rules interpretations for 2016-217. Keep in mind that there was a typo error. References to B4 should be B2.
SITUATION 2: B2 is in a marked lane space after free thrower A1 releases a final free-throw attempt. B2 enters the free-throw semicircle before the ball strikes the ring, contacting A1, whose free-throw attempt is unsuccessful. The official rules a foul on B4 and awards A1 bonus free throws as B4’s foul is the eighth team foul. RULING: The official was correct to rule a foul on B4 — illegal contact occurred. However, the official was incorrect to only award bonus free throws. B4 committed a delayed free-throw violation and A1 should have been given a substitute free throw with the lane cleared prior to the administration of
the bonus free throws. Play resumes with the result of A1’s bonus free throws. NFHS/Referee Basketball Preseason Guide 2016. (9-1 PENALTIES 2b)
|