View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 02, 2016, 11:41am
RefRich RefRich is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 64
Foul, No Violation

Quote:
Originally Posted by ballgame99 View Post
on the potential BC violation, if he is in the air when he catches the ball doesn't he get to land where he wants? Its hard to see from this angle, but let's say he leaves the floor with both feet (from the FC) and catches the ball while airborne and lands strattled on the line, isn't he considered to still be in BC status?
According to Rule 9.9, there is not violation because there has been no established position in the front court. All of the discussion so far appears to be that the ball is in the front court already. The jumping from the front court to the back court is not a factor because nothing has been established yet.

"in order to have a backcourt violation, “player and team” control must first be established in the frontcourt. This means a player must have been dribbling or holding the ball entirely in the frontcourt."

Isn't this a true statement? Now if his back foot lands in the newly established front court then when his front foot lands in the now defined back court it would be a violation. But in this case it would be a foul (based on the angle that I see visable)
__________________
"He who says he can and he who says he can't are both usually correct." - Confucius
Reply With Quote