
Thu Dec 01, 2016, 05:56pm
|
Official Forum Member
|
|
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,282
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by SC Official
I was just reading NFHS 9-9-3 and NCAA 9-12-10, and observed something.
During a jump ball, throw-in or while on defense, a player may legally jump from his/her frontcourt, secure control of the ball with both feet off the floor and return to the floor with one or both feet in the backcourt. The player may make a normal landing and it makes no difference whether the first foot down is in the frontcourt or backcourt. (NFHS 9-9-3)
After a jump ball or during a throw-in, the player in his frontcourt, who makes the initial touch on the ball while both feet are off the playing court, may be the first to secure control of the ball and land with one or both feet in the backcourt. It makes no difference if the first foot down was in the frontcourt or backcourt. (NCAA 9-12-10)
So, the wording of the rules with relation to if this action occurs right after a jump ball ends would seem to imply that this would be a legal play in NCAA, and not legal under NFHS. Interesting.
|
Different wording, same ruling. Still a violation for this play.
|