Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob1968
I agree, and that's why I mentioned that in the play in question, which is clearly after the jumpball had ended, a loose interpretation allows a no-call - as the player in black didn't appear to have control of the ball, which would have allowed an official to consider the player in white to be "on defense."
|
I agree, since no team controlled the ball until white caught it, white cannot be considered to be "on defense." However, that means the exception doesn't apply. I'm not sure why you said this allows a no call. It leads to a call--violation. Caught in FC land in BC. I'm probably missing what your trying to say...
I would simply say it was so close that i can't be sure and if i can't be sure I'm not going to call it.
p.s. (The offense is defined in the rules fundamentals as the team in control of the ball.)