Quote:
Originally Posted by jmkupka
What if the grounder went straight up the middle, fielded by F4? Pointing "fair", while looking weird, might still be the only way to signal "we still have a play going on here"...
Would that be too much like coaching?
|
That's kind of borderline... if you didn't do it when it was initially hit... then yeah, it's probably a bit across the line. That said, I doubt I'd fault an umpire for doing that in a case like this.
Of course ... if it's up the middle, I'd be wondering what you were pointing at.