Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
Here is the NCAAM case (NCAAW has the same case as AR 190):
A.R. 178.
The official administering a free throw has alerted players that the
game shall resume� A1, the free-thrower, is not ready
�
RULING: When A1 is in the semicircle and does not take the ball or
is outside the semicircle, the ball shall be placed on the free-throw line
and the official shall start the count. A violation shall result when the
free throw is not attempted in 10 seconds or when the free-thrower
enters the semicircle. However, any player from Team A may request
and be granted a timeout before the expiration of the 10-second time
limit for shooting the free throw.
|
And remember, because the ball is live and it's not a throw-in, the coach cannot call a time-out. It has to be a player.